Press Release | Fantastic Planet

September 30, 2019 Los Angeles Download

MONUMENTAL PUBLIC ART INSTALLATION FANTASTIC PLANET OPENING AT FIGAT7TH IN DOWNTOWN LOS ANGELES

World Renowned Artist Amanda Parer’s Giant Illuminated Human Figures Will Take Over Downtown Los Angeles, October 30th – November 10th

September 30, 2019 Los Angeles, CA — Downtown Los Angeles’ premier shopping destination, FIGat7th is hosting Fantastic Planet, a public art installation by highly acclaimed Australian artist Amanda Parer.  Four of Parer’s giant illuminated humanoid figures take over the FIGat7th plaza from October 30th through November 10th, 11 a.m. – 11 p.m. daily.  The installation follows Parer’s wildly popular 2016 exhibition, Intrude, which brought giant bunnies to FIGand7th.  These human giants will take over the retail center with their gentle, quiet and curious personalities, exploring our ‘fantastic planet.’

Parer’s edgy and ephemeral artwork explores the natural world, its fragility, and our role within it. Her work features startlingly beautiful creatures and humanoids enlarged and frozen within their chosen habitats. This installation  is inspired by the 1973 Czech/French film La Planète Sauvage (Fantastic Planet). The stop motion science fiction film was directed by René Laloux and depicts a story set in an unimaginably distant future in a world of gargantuan humanoids where human beings are a feral race.

Fantastic Planet arrives on the heels of Parer’s famous and celebrated installation of light sculptures, Intrude, which drew thousands of people to FIGat7th in 2016. Arts Brookfield has made Fantastic Planet’s visit to FIGat7th possible and open to the public as part of its continued effort to bring Brookfield’s public spaces to life through art.

FIGat7th is located at 735 S Figueroa St, Los Angeles, CA 90017.  For more information about Fantastic Planet, visit  www.artsbrookfield.com/event/fantastic-planet/.

Press Contacts

Berlin Rosen (New York)
brookfieldplace@berlinrosen.com

Cherri Carbonara (Houston)
Cherri@carbonaragroup.com

Hannah Payne (Houston)
Hannah@carbonaragroup.com

Paula Peri Tiernan (Denver)
Paula@perimarketing.com

Erica Overskei (Los Angeles)
Erica.Overskei@brookfield.com

Kerrie Muskens (Australia)
Kerrie.muskens@au.brookfield.com

Bonnie Haigh-Marmoreo (First Canadian Place, Toronto)
Bonnie.Haigh-Marmoreo@brookfield.com 

Franca Bellisario (Brookfield Place and Bay Adelaide, Toronto)
Franca.Bellisario@brookfieldproperties.com