BODY BG IMG

Press Release | 60×60

October 7, 2015 New York Download

For information and photos contact:

Patrick Kowalczyk, patrick@pkpr.com

Mark McArthur, mark@pkpr.com

PKPR, 212.627.8098

 

For high-res images: http://imgur.com/a/zDvy8

What:           60×60 Dance

When:          October 23, 2015

                        12:30 & 8:00 PM

Where:        Brookfield Place – Winter Garden

Phone:         212.417.2414

Web:             www.artsbrookfield.com/60×60

Cost:              FREE – No tickets or reservations required

 

60 DANCE ENSEMBLES PERFORM 60-SECOND DANCES

 TO NEW MUSIC BY 60 COMPOSERS

 AT BROOKFIELD PLACE WINTER GARDEN

 

Free 60X60 Dance will showcase cross-section of NYC dance scene plus world premiere music by Pauline Oliveros, Annea Lockwood, Eve Beglarian, and more 

New York, NY (October 1, 2015) – 60 dance ensembles will perform 60 one-minute dances set to world-premiere music by 60 different composers for a whirlwind performance in the Winter Garden at Brookfield Place next month.

On October 23, 60 x 60 Dance will showcase works by an exhaustive sampling of the New York City dance scene’s leading lights and up-and-coming artists, set to brand new one-minute works by contemporary music luminaries like Pauline Oliveros, Annea Lockwood, Eve Beglarian, Gene Pritsker, and Steve Betts. Presented by Arts Brookfield, the free performance is part of the Vox Novus Festival, celebrating Vox Novus’s 15th anniversary as one of the nation’s most innovative producers, presenters, and promoters of new music.

In the production, 60 dance ensembles will perform 60 seconds of movement back-to-back without pause, while an analog clock behind the dancers ticks away their allotted interval. Every minute features a different composer and  dancer or dancers, serving up a wildly diverse range of musical and dance styles, from classical to modern and everything in between.

60×60 Dance evolved out of the acclaimed 60×60 music series, which was launched by composer and Vox Novus founder Robert Voisey in 2003 to give audiences a comprehensive overview of the latest in contemporary music. 60×60 Dance has showcased the work of more than 500 choreographers, performed by thousands of dancers, in cities throughout the U.S. as well as in Canada and the U.K. Each event features choreographers who are based in the immediate region, offering audiences an opportunity to get a taste of the entire spectrum of their local modern-dance scene.

“This electrifying, one-hour experience offers up the best of both the contemporary music world and New York City’s thriving dance scene,” said Debra Simon, vice president and artistic director of Arts Brookfield. “60×60 Dance is 60 minutes of pure exhilaration, and we’re thrilled to partner with Vox Novus to present this unparalleled collection of talent in one place.”

 

About Arts Brookfield:

Arts Brookfield presents exciting, world-class cultural experiences to hundreds of thousands of people for free each year in both indoor and outdoor public spaces at Brookfield’s premier office properties in New York, Los Angeles, Denver, Houston, Toronto, Perth and Sydney. From concerts, theater and dance to film screenings and art exhibitions, Arts Brookfield brings public spaces to life through art. Visit www.ArtsBrookfield.com for a complete schedule of events.

 

# # #

Press Contacts

GENERAL

Press@brookfieldproperties.com

EVENTS

La Force (New York)
BPNY@LaForce.nyc

Cherri Carbonara (Houston)
Cherri@carbonaragroup.com

Hannah Payne (Houston)
Hannah@carbonaragroup.com

Paula Peri Tiernan (Denver)
Paula@perimarketing.com

Erica Overskei (Los Angeles)
Erica.Overskei@brookfield.com

Kerrie Muskens (Australia)
Kerrie.muskens@au.brookfield.com

Bonnie Haigh-Marmoreo (First Canadian Place, Toronto)
Bonnie.Haigh-Marmoreo@brookfield.com 

Franca Bellisario (Brookfield Place and Bay Adelaide, Toronto)
Franca.Bellisario@brookfieldproperties.com