Press Release | Carlos Rolón: When We Were Young

April 11, 2018 New York Download

ARTIST CARLOS ROLÓN SHINES LIGHT ON THE TRANSFORMATIVE POWER OF BICYCLES WITH EXHIBITION AT BROOKFIELD PLACE

WHEN WE WERE YOUNG ON DISPLAY MAY 7 – 23, AS PART OF NYCxDESIGN 2018

New York, NY, April 11, 2018 — Arts Brookfield presents When We Were Young, an exhibition by artist Carlos Rolón on display at Brookfield Place (230 Vesey Street) from May 7 to May 23, 10:00am to 8:00pm daily.  When We Were Young is a powerful investigation of the worldwide trend of bicycles as a means of transportation that is reshaping major cities, combining cutting-edge design with populist expressions. This exhibition is presented  as part of NYCxDESIGN, New York City’s annual celebration of design through exhibitions, installations and events, attracting hundreds of thousands of attendees from across the globe. Admission is free and open to the public.

“Arts Brookfield is proud to present When We Were Young as part of NYCxDESIGN,” said Elysa Marden, Vice President, Arts & Events, Arts Brookfield. “This visually intricate exhibition is sure to encourage viewers to reflect on how design and engineering have the power to transform both the cities we live in and the lives we lead.”

The exhibition will feature four bicycle installations by contemporary visual artist Carlos Rolón: Boriqua Sound System, The Majestics (For Louise), and two new bicycle sculptures specially commissioned by Arts Brookfield titled SUNNY & LEE. Born in Chicago in 1970, Rolón is a graduate of Columbia College Chicago and a recipient of the prestigious Joan Mitchell Foundation Award for Painting and Sculpture. Rolón has exhibited internationally and is included in public and private collections such as the Brooklyn Museum of Art. Known for his elaborately crafted sculptures and paintings, the bicycle sculptures in When We Were Young both comment on conspicuous consumption and act as urban artifacts. By juxtaposing engineering and craftsmanship against cultural commentary, Rolón creates a dynamic space for discussion about the influence of design.

“I take joy in creating and craft-making. What I’ve learned and taken away from the subculture of customization is the passion the drives these self-taught creatives. It reminds me why I create and why I decided to become an artist. I feel the works ultimately produce a hybrid language of social practice, painting and sculpture which invite the viewer to engage in discourse and discussion.” said Rolón, “I’m excited to bring When We Were Young to Brookfield Place and to debut two new functional bicycle sculptures for visitors to enjoy and contemplate.” 

All Arts Brookfield events are FREE to attend. NYCxDESIGN occurs May 11 – 23, 2018, with events taking place across New York City’s five boroughs. Discover a full list of activities at nycxdesign.com.

CONTACT: Kara Delos Reyes, The Knot Group  (kara@theknotgroup.com)
IMAGES: Download Here

 

Press Contacts

GENERAL

Press@brookfieldproperties.com

EVENTS

Tatiana Reade (New York)
artsbrookfield@theknotgroup.com

Cherri Carbonara (Houston)
Cherri@carbonaragroup.com

Hannah Payne (Houston)
Hannah@carbonaragroup.com

Paula Peri Tiernan (Denver)
Paula@perimarketing.com

Erica Overskei (Los Angeles)
Erica.Overskei@brookfield.com

Kerrie Muskens (Australia)
Kerrie.muskens@au.brookfield.com

Bonnie Haigh-Marmoreo (First Canadian Place, Toronto)
Bonnie.Haigh-Marmoreo@brookfield.com 

Franca Bellisario (Brookfield Place and Bay Adelaide, Toronto)
Franca.Bellisario@brookfieldproperties.com